Life is Messy

“For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.” 2 Ch.16.9

Not those with perfect lives…

Life is messy.

Seems to be a pretty concrete statement for most of society.

It’s easy to get caught up in our own messes. When sitting in a pile of crap sometimes we only notice our own stench and forget to look up and notice that others have their own piles, some even bigger than ours.

Ok, disgusting imagery, but its true.

We need to lift our gazes up and out.

It’s too easy to get consumed in our own difficulties and if we’d just slow down and look up we would see life is just messy. That’s life – everyone’s life has some degree of mess.

I’m learning to accept that’s part of what makes life beautiful. It’s certainly what forges the deepest bonds; with each other and with God.

Those bonds can only happen if we let our guard down, show our messes, be vulnerable, and real. Shatter the imposed expectations and false fronts.

Life is messy. And hard. And exhausting. And its easy to give yourself an out…

  • I only slept 3 hours last night
  • I haven’t showered in 5 days (thank God for dry shampoo)
  • My one year old is teething…for 3 weeks now
  • I dislike meeting new people
  • I needed groceries 3 days ago
  • My body is breaking out thanks to fertility pills
  • My husbands been out of town for 4 weeks….

Believe me, I get it, we all have excuses and busy messy lives.

The reality is: God is bigger than any mess, any drama, any exhaustion, and if we’d let Him, He would sustain us.

He may not organize our messes or make them disappear, but He will give us a path through them, hold our hands while we navigate it, and help us see the beauty in imperfection.

I’ve discovered the ultimate contradiction is that the more I give out, the more He fills me up!

Yes, some days I need to ‘just say no.’ I need to force myself to lay in the quiet while Nici naps, even if I won’t fall asleep.

But all in all we are capable of giving back infinitely more than we think. We need to look up and help others in their messes.

In return, God makes our mess a little more manageable.

I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire.
He set my feet on solid ground
and steadied me as I walked along. – Psalm 40:1-2

– J

Leave a Reply

