Nobel Reflections

Last week, the youngest person ever received the Nobel Peace Prize.  Malala Yousafzai won it at age 17.  (If you ask me, she should have won it before now).  As an overview, she stood up to the Taliban for her rights and other girls’ right to an education.  She recognized the power of education and the power of educated women, in particular.  For which, she almost paid for with her life and lives a life exiled from her home.  Since then, she has become an advocate for education and children around the world.

We all could take a lesson from Malala.  She knew what was right and she did it.  She did what was right when she knew it could mean her life!  How often have I not done something that I knew was right because I was tired, didn’t feel like it, or thought it would make people look at me funny?  Too many times to count. .

God doesn’t call us to live a life full of comfort, well rested, or surrounded by people who adore us.  He calls us to live a life of uncomfortable action.  When we see something that should be done or someone who needs us, why do we hesitate sometimes?  This is one thing (of many) I am trying to work on within myself.  I want to make it instinctual to do what I know is right regardless of how stressed I feel or how others may perceive me.  God is all about compassion, love, and mercy.  (There is more than a fair amount of justice, too – just read the Old Testament).  So, that is how I want to live my life.  I want to live a life of compassion, love, and mercy – one person, one action, one day at a time.

-S

Here is my favorite interview of those I’ve seen with her if you’re interested in hearing more about/from her.

Leave a Reply

